Three from MSNE awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Jeremy Daum, Neethu Pottackal and Sanjna Sukumaran receive fellowships intended to develop the next generation of scientists and engineers.

Headshots of students

The National Science Foundation has awarded three Graduate Research Fellowships to students in the Department of Materials Science and NanoEngineering at Rice University.

The recipients include graduate students Jeremy Daum, Neethu Pottackal and Sanjna Sukumaran. Additionally, graduate student Alianna Maguire and undergraduate John Tianci Li earned honorable mentions.

The fellowships are intended to develop the next generation of scientists and engineers through the support of their graduate education. Fellows are given three years of financial support within a five-year fellowship period, including a $34,000 annual stipend and a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance to the graduate institution.

The funds are intended for graduate study that leads to a research-based master’s or doctoral degree in a STEM field.

“Rice congratulates our fellows and honorable mentions,” said Seiichi Matsuda, dean of graduate and postdoctoral studies. “The students recognized in this competition have worked hard and have achieved at the highest levels. It is a joy and a privilege to work with them.”

All graduate students and postdoctoral researchers who have won external fellowships will be honored at GPS’ annual Take the Cake event in the fall, where they will receive a cake to share with their research groups.