Materials Science & Nanoengineering

Materials Science & Nanoengineering

Contact Us

Department of Materials Science and NanoEngineering (MSNE)

Phone: 713.348.3698

MSNE Seminar Series - Prof. David L. Bourell "Metal Issues in Additive Manufacturing” (450/451/500)


Materials Science & NanoEngineering

By: David L Bourell
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
From: University of Texas
When: Thursday, February 23, 2017
3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Where: Dell Butcher Hall
Abstract: Additive Manufacturing (AM), also known as 3D Printing, has over the last seven years moved from an esoteric research topic to a household word. This phenomenal growth has sparked new interest in understanding and extending the scope of the field. In this presentation, the growth forecast of AM will be presented. A review of issues associated with direct metal AM will be given which includes part microstructure, defects and mechanical properties. Future trends in metal AM will also be presented. Included will be a current research effort in the presenter’s lab on direct metal processing of commercially interesting aluminum alloys, specifically AA6061.
David L Bourell
Dr. David L. Bourell is the Temple Foundation Professor of Mechanical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin and is currently Director of the Laboratory for Freeform Fabrication. Dr. Bourell's areas of research include particulate processing with emphasis on sintering kinetics and densification, and materials issues associated with Laser Sintering (LS). Dave was the lead author on the original materials patent for LS technology. Issuing in 1990, this patent has been cited by over 190 other patents, and it represents the original intellectual property for mixed and coated powders for LS, including binders. Dr. Bourell is a Fellow of ASM International and TMS, and he is also a lifetime member of TMS. He was elected an Associate Member of the CIRP in 2013. In 2009, he received the TMS Materials Processing and Manufacturing Division Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award. He has received two major conference career awards in additive manufacturing: the SFF Symposium FAME Award and the Portuguese VRAP Career Educator Award. He is the 2018 recipient of the SME Albert M. Sargent Progress Award. Dave currently serves the Additive Manufacturing community as the inaugural Chair of the TMS AM Committee, member of the ISO/ASTM Working Group on Terminology, Chair of the ASTM F42 Subcommittee on AM Terminology and, since 1995, Chair of the International Annual Solid Freeform Fabrication Symposium.