Materials Science & Nanoengineering

Materials Science & Nanoengineering

Contact Us

Department of Materials Science and NanoEngineering (MSNE)

Phone: 713.348.3698

Kato wins NSF Graduate Fellowship

Fifteen of the 28 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Fellowships received at Rice University for 2017 are current students or graduates of the George R. Brown School of Engineering and MSNE graduate student Keiko Kato is among them.

Fellows receive a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 and a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees, opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct research at an accredited U.S. institution of graduate education of their choice.

NSF received more than 13,000 applications this year and made 2,000 award offers. The current engineering graduate students who received fellowships and their fields of study are:

  • Peter Geldermans, computational and applied mathematics (CAAM)
  • Keiko Kato, materials science and nanoengineering
  • Zak Kingston ’16, computer science
  • Kim Raath, statistics (STAT)
  • Jordan Wagner, mechanical engineering (MECH)
  • Michael Weylandt, STAT

Current undergraduates:

  • Nathan Bucki, MECH
  • Jennifer Dawkins, bioengineering (BIOE)
  • Sarah Hooper, electrical and computer engineering (ECE)
  • Claudia Kann, MECH
  • Mia Polansky, ECE


  • James Allred ’16, ECE, Princeton University
  • Veronica Gough ’16, BIOE, Duke University
  • Sarah Schwettmann ’15, CAAM, MIT
  • Bilan Yang ’16, MECH, Stanford University

The program financially supports outstanding graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. As the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, the Graduate Research Fellowship Program has supported 42 future Nobel laureates, and more than 450 have become members of the National Academy of Sciences.